ShroomDuck's Introduction

New to the forum or to the game? Or a longtimer? Either way, tell us about yourself here!
ShroomDuck

ShroomDuck's Introduction

Post by ShroomDuck »

Hia!
My name is ShroomDuck, and I'm a 40 year old male from Canada, with a beautiful wife and two wonderful kids.

I own an advertising agency that's been running for almost 20 years now. We do a lot of things for many clients, but the most exciting thing lately is VR, and how we are using it for archviz. The business has grown quite a bit, and between managing employees, family time and personal projects, I have very little time for gaming.

I started playing JK2 a few days after it came out, and happened upon a server called LiCk. The admin was enforcing some rules on the server (basically just sabre down, no attack) and I thought that was pretty cool. I joined that clan, but they were involved in a lot of other games, and soon lost interest in JK2. So I founded a new clan: They Might Be Jedi (TMBJ). I made some maps. I became manager of jk2files.com (it's gone!). I really loved the game - but then...

Then people really started digging my maps. Some guy paid me $3000 to design a map for him. He was crazy. I needed money. I became a lot more well known and it started becoming an issue. I'd go onto a server and one of these things would happen:
- Everyone would line up to duel me, so they could say "I beat ShroomDuck!!!11onetwelve" (I prefer a good FFA myself)
- People would ask me if I was the real ShroomDuck, and I usually wouldn't answer. I had no interest in proving who I was. Just wanted to play.
- I'd be banned from the server for "impersonating ShroomDuck"

So I quit for a while, and stopped mapping. I returned, but mainly played using an alias. If you've played against PandyFackler, that was me. If you played against Gabrielle, that was me pretending to be an angry girl.