Linux VS Windows Server

Get support for anything JK2 related, find tutorials for in-game and modding topics, and post any suggestions for the site here.
Post Reply
sterfreak
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2017, 05:17

Linux VS Windows Server

Post by sterfreak » 28 Aug 2017, 05:22

I recently spun up two servers. First was a Windows 2016 Datacenter box, the second was an Arch Linux box.
Both of them worked great with the binaries as clients! Seemingly, the windows one is great as a server!

But then there is the Linux dedicated server binary...
It seems to stutter for a split second every second. The Windows server has no such issue.
I have tried many different releases, from the automatic build, to the regular 1.3.1 release,
to compiling from source as x86_64. Nothing seems to fix it. Is there something in particular I am doing wrong here?
Has anyone else noticed this? It seems independent of the client, as this happens with any client OS.

User avatar
fau
Staff
Posts: 412
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 01:01
Location: Warsaw / Poland
Contact:

Re: Linux VS Windows Server

Post by fau » 28 Aug 2017, 09:22

Define stutter. Can you paste a server address?

sterfreak
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2017, 05:17

Re: Linux VS Windows Server

Post by sterfreak » 28 Aug 2017, 14:06

Stutter?

Hmm. Like just a little bit of lag every second or so. It doesn't seem to be FPS related on the client end
I know it's not latency as the server is hosted locally to me. I put the Linux server online for you to see
ripjitter.no-ip.org:28070

EDIT: Instead of using my normal template I build the server from scratch and it seems to be working fine now.
Guess I have a bigger problem.
Last edited by sterfreak on 28 Aug 2017, 15:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fau
Staff
Posts: 412
Joined: 16 Aug 2015, 01:01
Location: Warsaw / Poland
Contact:

Re: Linux VS Windows Server

Post by fau » 28 Aug 2017, 15:34

It looks like your server has some serious timing issues. Can you set com_speeds cvar to 1 and paste log? What is your system load when you type "uptime" in a terminal? Is your system clock showing correct time? Do you use default config? What when you remove bots and use some basejk map?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Created by Matti from StylesFactory.pl and Warlords of Draenor (modified by jk2.info)
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
GZIP: On
 

 

cron