a serious issue

General topics about Star Wars or Jedi Knight II.
Maxxi(PALPAMEME)

a serious issue

Post by Maxxi(PALPAMEME) »

Hello everyone.

I want to speak to you about an issue that has been bugging me recently.

I am still relatively new to the JK2 community, having only been playing for about 10 months now. In that time, I have learned to play pretty well and have taught many new players. 2 of my students in particular are now respected members of KAI.

But I was not always as good as I am now. like most others, I had to be taught how to play properly. I enjoy teaching players now because I find it incredibly satisfying to see these newbies accepted into the ranks of a clan or just generally become decent players.

I have noticed an increase in new players recently, particularly on the SoL server and occasionally on the main KAI server as well. most of these newbies give up JK2 because of the harsh learning curve and due to the fact no-one is there to teach them.

This is a shame because we are losing so many people who could become valuable members of our community.

Is there any way to help these new players become inducted into JK2? I am open to suggestions.

Palp
UNNLIMETED POWWWWWAAAAAA!
Palp
fau
Staff

Re: a serious issue

Post by fau »

There are few things that usually worked in jk2 community. Big clans with clean hierarchy to give beginners some goals and master-padawan relations (usually inside of a clan). I think SoL clan is doing it right currently. Back in the days there was also some competitive inventive like internal tournaments, clan trainings and clan wars. Also "newbie clans" playing clan wars among themselves and accepting new players into their ranks. This would be hard nowadays due to small number of new players, still worth trying.